1. <pre id="ljnoa"></pre>

      <code id="ljnoa"></code>

      Quick fact

      Geospatial Information Frame

      CENSUS 2021 PREPARATION: THE GEOSPATIAL INFORMATION FRAME UPDATE

      Statistics South Africa (Stats SA) will conduct the fourth democratic census in 2021. The base for any census is an updated list of structures (the Geospatial Information Frame, or GIF), which is sub-divided into workloads called Enumeration Areas and used to inform field staff of the dwellings they should visit during the data collection period.

      This process was known as ‘listing’. Fieldworkers (FWs) were issued with listing books that had a map of the area they were to unpack. The FWs would then walk the area and note the number and type of structures on a particular erf/yard/stand. The information on these listing books was captured onto an electronic database and used to demarcate enumerator areas for the census.

      Stats SA is undergoing a digital transformation and moving away from paper. While the FWs who are involved in the GIF update are using tablets instead of paper maps, the basic objective remains the same – to ensure that all structures in the country are on the GIF so that the census data collection can be done without under- or overcount.

      During the GIF Update, FWs visit all structures across the country and create electronic inventory lists noting the structures and their uses to determine where dwellings are found. For example, an industrial complex might have a caretaker who lives on the grounds. It is important that the structures on this complex are unpacked so that the residential dwelling can be identified.

      In the same way, a residential dwelling could have a number of backyard structures that serve as separate dwellings. If these additional dwellings are not unpacked during GIF, the allocation of fieldwork will be incorrect, and the enumerator will not have enough time to collect demographic and other data from all the dwellings in the area he/she has been allocated.

      We are appealing to all South Africans to please allow Stats SA’s FW’s onto their premises so that they have access to and can record all structures. It is only by having an accurate GIF that we can ensure that everyone is counted in the upcoming census.

      Stats SA FW’s will wear Stats SA-branded bibs, carry Stats SA ID cards, and have introduction letters. If you need to verify that these are indeed Stats SA staff members, you can contact your local district or provincial office.

      • Number and type of structures
      • Call Centre: 0800?110?248
      • Email: info@statssa.gov.za
      • Facebook: StatsSA
      • Twitter: @StatsSA

       

      Eastern Cape:
      Zixolele Tsomo
      0437046500
      0716808313
      tsomoz@statssa.gov.za

       

      Free State:
      Docky Shiba
      0827805970
      051 412 7500 (ext 7530)
      dockys@statssa.gov.za

      Goiwakae Monnye
      0827806703
      051 412 7500 (ext 7526)
      goiwakaem@statssa.gov.za

       

      Gauteng:
      Tshwarelo Mokoena
      0827782197
      011 781 3495/3506
      tshwarelom@statssa.gov.za

       

      KwaZulu-Natal:
      Mr Gabriel Dlamini
      031 360 0671
      079 513 7219
      GabrielD@statssa.gov.za

      Mr Yugen Naidu
      031 360 0600
      082 888 2593
      Yugenn@statssa.gov.za

      Bongani Radebe
      0313600600
      0829016083
      bonganir@statssa.gov.za

      Jenny Naidoo
      0313600600
      0828882162
      jennyn@statssa.gov.za

       

      Limpopo:? ? ? ?
      Hellen Phosiwa
      0716818260
      0834108553
      hellenp@statssa.gov.za

       

      Mpumalanga:?
      Ndivhuwo Mulovhedzi
      0764307873
      ndivhuwom@statssa.gov.za

       

      North West :? ?
      Tebogo Bankoes
      0716810440
      018 384 2877/9
      tebogoba@statssa.gov.za

       

      Northern Cape:???????
      Christa Kruger
      0538026800
      0796991511
      christak@statssa.gov.za

       

      Western Cape:
      Cuan Bowman
      0829026504
      0214815500/0214815525
      cuanb@statssa.gov.za


      118图库